CRM Migration (Part 1)

Recently I’ve been able to start moving our internal Coldfusion based CRM onto Node.js, I’m going to start chronicling the difficulties and challenges this has produced and my solutions to these problems in this multi-part series CRM Migration. My aim is to get one of these up every wednesday.

Access

The first problem I came across is the nastiest one for a partial migration; How do I keep one login for both sites?

To solve this we need to solve a simpler question – How do I access legacy coldfusion pages that we aren’t migrating yet?

I tried using node-proxy, but that didn’t go so well after a while due to cookies making sessions do weird things, my eventual solution was as follows:

@get '/index.cfm*', (req,res) ->
	request
		uri: "#{security.proxyAddress}#{req.url.substring 1}"
		method: 'GET'
		jar: req.session.proxyCookie
	, (err, resp, data) => testCookie req, resp, -> res.send resp.statusCode, resp.body
@post '/index.cfm*', (req,res) ->
	request
		uri: "#{security.proxyAddress}#{req.url.substring 1}"
		method: 'POST'
		jar: req.session.proxyCookie
	, (err, resp, data) => testCookie req, resp, -> res.send resp.statusCode, resp.body

NOTE: I started off using zappajs, but then migrated to Express 4 so I replicated the helpers. The ‘@’ is essentially a reference to the express server variable.

I’ll start by explaining the reasoning behind the URL structure; ‘/index.cfm*’. The CRM in coldfusion runs on CFWheels, a MVC library, and I never got the url rewrites to work on IIS so an example format for Coldfusion URL’s is ‘/index.cfm/{controller}/{action}/{key}’. The two above handlers basically state that any request that starts with ‘/index.cfm’ is targeted to the coldfusion server, in case you haven’t guessed my approach is to field ALL http requests to the node.js server which will act as a proxy for the Coldfusion server if we haven’t migrated that across using node.js’s built in request library.

That’s basically it for access to the old Coldfusion pages, you may be curious about the ‘testCookie’ function and where on earth this ‘req.session.proxyCookie’ variable comes from, but that will be in Part 2.

Hint: It’s about authenticating the user for node.js and coldfusion!

See you all next week!

If you want to know about my basic setup for Node.js projects with express see my Nodejs Website Base.

About Simeon Cheeseman

I enjoy a wide variety of computer and board games, have a BSc in Computer Science and have played percussion for 18 years.

Posted on July 23, 2014, in CFWheels, ColdFusion, Node.js, Web and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

