Kickstarter: Planetary Annihilation

Welcome to my new topic Kickstarter projects that I am backing and why. The idea behind this is that when I back a kickstarter project I will blog about it – then about a year later (or whenever I get the rewards if any) I will do a follow up blog. So first off is the project that I as a PC gamer am very excited about; Planetary Annihilation – A Next Generation RTS

Concept & Why I backed it

Now this isn’t the first project that I have backed, but it by far is the coolest concept I’ve seen – plus the team is a great group of talent. Kickstarter Video – I know the vids long but the idea is explained in the first 2-3 minutes or so. The reason I have backed this is the enthusiasm the team seems to exhibit about the idea (if someone believes in what they are making they generally make a better product) and the fact that it seems to be a combination of the first RTS I ever played; Total Annihilation and 2 of my favourite RTS of all time, being Sins of a Solar Empire and Supreme Commander. Plus (as many others have said) who wouldn’t want to play a game where you can sling asteroids at your opponents!!

There are 7(ish) days left in the kickstarter, it definitely will fund (already heading for some awesome overfunding goals) so you could consider it a pre-order of sorts. Personally I backed it at the $100 level as I am a sucker for a nice limited edition box! (Oh and there’s also a pay-pal option if you can’t pay through kickstarter here: planetaryannihilation.com).

Next Up

Next up in the series will be a review on Castle Story, that I should be receiving the prototype for soon.

About Simeon Cheeseman

I enjoy a wide variety of computer and board games, have a BSc in Computer Science and have played percussion for 18 years.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Kicktstarter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

